Breaking News

The Roots To Release New Concept album

The Roots On The Set Of NBC's Late Night With Jimmy Fallon

The Roots On The Set Of NBC's Late Night With Jimmy Fallon

It’s good to see that being on TV along side Jimmy Fallon as the house band for NBC’s Late Night With Jimmy Fallon, hasn’t prevented The Roots from staying true to their roots.  The blogisphere has been building in buzz recently thanks to substantiated chatter regarding the band’s plans to release what would be  their 11th full length LP on December 6th.  The album will reportedly be a concept album that chronicles the life of a man named Redford Stephens who died in 1999.  The Roots’ drummer ?uestlove has be quoted discussing the motivation behind the “Stephens” centered concept album saying that it is  “the story of a kid who becomes criminal, but he wasn’t born criminal. He’s not the nouveau exotic primitive bug-eyed gunrunner like Tupac’s character Bishop in Juice … he’s actually thoughtful and is neither victim nor hero.”

?uestlove  describes the album, known as  Undun, as “band-oriented with an eye on the moody cinematic.”  Report indicate that the first single, “Make My”, featuring Big K.R.I.T., will be released on iTunes via Def Jam Records on November 1st. Clizbeats has discussed album details with Def Jam, and plan to keep you up dated as any new information or material related to the album becomes available.

Blow are official Track Listings As Reported By Pitchfork Media:

01 Sleep
02 Make My [ft. Big K.R.I.T.]
03 One Time
04 Kool On
05 The Jump
06 Stomp
07 Lighthouse
08 I Remember
09 Tip the Scale
10 Redford

Related Media:

Juice Trailer (1992)

Paramount Pictures