Breaking News

New Music From YMCMB’s Lil Wayne And Drake Sparks Creativity And Controversy In The Same Week

Recently the music world has been getting a double dose of new music videos from two of YMCMB’s biggest stars. The first is the newest clip from their Canadian import actor, turned rapping superstar, Drake. His latest video is for his brand new single, “Started From The Bottom”, which is the lead track from his upcoming project, Nothing Was The Same. As the title suggests, the song allows Drake to address life prior to fame, and then goes on to address how things have obviously changed. The video features him in an all-white, standing in the back of a white droptop Bentley, during a blizzard. In other scenes, he works retail in a Shoppers Drug Mart drugstore, flies a plane into his native Toronto and dances around in a club. Drake’s mother, Sandi, and Producers Boi-1da and Noah “40” Shebib are all seen making cameos in the X directed video.


“Started From The Bottom” (Explicit)

From Nothing Was The Same

Young Money/Cash Money/Republic Records

After the song’s initial release, it was then followed by a series of unofficial remixes that appeared online. The first of these remixes came from Pittsburg rapper Wiz Khalifa, since then various other remixes surfaced from the likes of Bow Wow, Soulja Boy, Ace Hood and Papoose. Last week Mike Posner, Asher Roth, T. Mills, Chuck Inglish & King Chip even published a full band version of their remix to the song and it became a viral hi on YouTube.

Mike Posner Featuring Asher Roth, T. Mills, Chuck Inglish & King Chip

“Started From The Bottom” (Mike Posner Remix) (Explicit)

The second of these official YMCMB music video comes from the Young Money founder himself, Lil Wayne. Last week MTV platforms premiered Wayne’s new video for the song “B****es Love Me” (“Love Me”), which also features Drake as well as Future. The song is the third official video from his forthcoming album, I Am Not A Human Being II. It follows, “No Worries”, which made a big splash with its video based on Fear Of Loathing In Las Vegas. The “Love Me” video premiered as “Jam Of The Week” primarily on MTV’s digital channel, MTV Jams on Valentine’s Day.

Lil Wayne Featuring Drake And Future

“Love Me” (Edited Version)

From I Am Not A Human Being II

Young Money/Cash Money/Republic Records

This video from Wayne, which features Epic Records rapper, Future, comes after Epic actually had to release an apology in regards to a punch line Wayne delivered on an remix to one of Future’s songs. In Future’s “Karate Chop” remix, Wayne makes a reference to Emmett Till. Till was a 14 year-old African American boy who was brutally mutilated and murdered in 1955 for allegedly whistling at a white woman. Wayne’s reference in the song was an insensitive analogy for rough sex. The family of Till was understandably offended, and since the line was delivered in bad taste, Epic Records issued the apology. This is a good reminder that yes, entertainers do have the right of freedom of speech, but not everything they say in songs is always the most thought out or remarkable just because it is popular. Check out details of that story over at

Future Featuring Lil Wayne

“Karate Chop (Remix)” (Explicit)

Epic Records

Despite all the controversial things that Lil Wayne has done throughout his career, he remains active and relevant in Hip Hop music. This new album is in fact the sequel to his 2010 album, I Am Not A Human Being , which was released throughout Wayne’s nine-month prison term for criminal possession of a weapon. All promotional material for that project was filmed/shot/produced prior to the beginning of his sentence. That album went on to debut at number 2 on the Billboard 200, despite that controversy. If a nine month   prison term could not slow Wayne down, it is unlikely that some rude comments about a civil rights legend will either. I Am Not A Human Being II will feature guest appearances from the likes of Big Sean, Gudda Gudda, Meek Mill, Cory Gunz, 2 Chainz , Detail, Boo, Drake, Nicki Minaj, Soulja Boy, Future and Gunplay were confirmed to be featured on the album.. It will be released on March 26th from Young Money/Cash Money/Republic Records.