Breaking News


Walk The Moon

Walk The Moon

MTV today announced WALK THE MOON will take the stage for the Grammy® and Emmy® award-winning series, “Unplugged,” now back for the 2012 season, with State Farm® serving as exclusive digital sponsor. The episode, which features a five-song set, plus one digital-only exclusive, will debut on Monday, August 6 on beginning at 2pm EST.

The eight-song set includes selections from their debut album, including “Anna Sun,” which MTV fans and Seventeen Magazine readers named the top summer song of 2012, “Tightrope,” “Shiver Shiver,” “Iscariot,” “Next in Line,” “I Can Lift a Car,” a brand new song, “Tete a Tete,” as well as a stunning cover of the Yeah Yeah Yeahs’ “Maps”.

“WALK THE MOON is one of those bands that makes you a fan the very first time you experience them live.  They are one of year’s most promising new bands that has been omnipresent across all MTV screens since the moment we first discovered them,” said Amy Doyle, Executive Vice President, MTV Music & Talent Strategy. “Unplugged is the perfect showcase for a band like WALK THE MOON to thrill their fans with stripped down renditions from their debut album, while courting new ones with their clever hooks and copious amounts of energy.”

Launched in Ohio in 2008 by lead singer, songwriter and keyboard player Nicholas Petricca, WALK THE MOON includes Kevin Ray (bass, vocals), Eli Maiman (guitar, vocals) and Sean Waugaman (drums, vocals). Named one of “MTV’s Artists to Watch for 2012,” WALK THE MOON, who has already toured as part of MTVU’s first ever “Woodies Tour” with Young the Giant as well as with the Kaiser Chiefs, are currently on their first headlining tour. They have captured the attention of fans and critics alike with their colorful and energetic live performances.  WALK THE MOON’s self titled album is produced by Ben H. Allen (Gnarls Barkley, Animal Collective) and features tracks from the “Anna Sun EP”, new songs and newly recorded versions of fan favorites off their 2010 independently released album i want! i want!.

“State Farm is thrilled to help music fans get to a better state by bringing them closer to the Unplugged series,” said State Farm marketing assistant vice president Tim Van Hoof.  “The digital experience lets fans access the series where and when they want and we can’t wait to send a fan to a live performance!”

The 2012 Unplugged Season features a total of eight episodes across MTV, VH1 and CMT, with WALK THE MOON performance being the fifth in the season. As the exclusive digital sponsor, State Farm will continue to showcase its success with music programs and provide fans with the opportunity to experience these artists in the up-close and unforgettable way only Unplugged can do.   In addition, State Farm will be sending one lucky fan with a friend to see a live Unplugged performance via the State Farm Unplugged Sweepstakes.
Unplugged was created by Robert Small and Jim Burns.

Related Media

Walk The Moon

“Anna Sun”

From Walk The Moon

RCA Records