Breaking News

Jay-Z “Smells Like Teen Spirit”: A Look At Magna Carta: Holy Grail

Jay-Z/Kurt Cobain

Jay-Z/Kurt Cobain

In a fashion worthy of what Jay-Z has become known for, there has been plenty of buzz to talk about that is centered on his new Samsung promoted album Magna Carta: Holy Grail. The week even started off with a particular bang for Mr. Carter because of details that were indirectly revealed about the forthcoming album in a scavenger hunt that he had in Brooklyn this past weekend. Right out of the gate blogs were being flooded with new info about Holy Grail’s track listings, and our eyes, like the rest of the world’s, immediately zeroed in on the album’s stand out song also called “Holy Grail.” Why? Simple. it features his “Suite & Tie” collaborator Justin Timberlake.

To us, the coolest part of all of this JT Jay-Z buzz is that it doesn’t stop there. Even though Jay-Z is known for not writing his lyrics down in the recording process, someone did. They were released as a major part of all of this new mania, and exposed another layer to the song.  The lyrics revealed in the Samsung App tackle the pit falls of fame by barrowing from Kurt Cobain’s Grunge Rock classic, “Smells Like Teen Spirit” by Nirvana. Cobain’s widow Courtney Love reportedly gave the rapper permission to do so.

Jay made some slight changes to customize the track.  We’ve posted them below for you to read for yourself. Take a look and enjoy. Other featured artists on Magna Carta include his wife Beyonce, Rick Ross, and Frank Ocean. Magna Carta is scheduled to hit stores on July 4th.

"Holy Grail" By Jay-z Featuring Justin TImberlake

"Holy Grail" By Jay-z Featuring Justin TImberlake

Related Media

Jay-Z Discusses “Oceans” Featuring Frank Ocean


“Smells Like Teen Spirit”

DGC Records

“Magna Carta Holy Grail” Tracklist:
1. Picasso Baby
2. Heaven
3. Versus
4. Tom Ford
5. Beach Is Better
6. FuckWithMeYouKnowIGotIt
7. Oceans
8. F.U.T.W.
09. Part II (On The Run)
10. BBC
11. La Familia
12. Jay-Z Blue
13. Nickles & Dimes
14. Holy Grail (Bonus Track)
15. Open Letter (Bonus Track)