Breaking News


(New York, New York) – Rising singer-songwriter pop duo A Great Big World have been personally tapped by pop superstar Christina Aguilera to perform their palpably powerful and poetic single “Say Something” live on NBC’s “The Voice” Tuesday, November 5. Upon first listen, Aguilera felt the song’s impact and immediately forged a bond with its message in addition to the outpouring from countless fans across the country.

The songstress became so emotionally connected to the track that she asked to join the duo of Ian Axel and Chad Vaccarino in the studio to re-record the song, lending her legendary voice to a new take, adding a new dimension and elevating it to new heights. The results are stirring, soulful, and stunning. The song will be available for purchase at all digital retailers on November 4th.

About the track, Aguilera enthusiastically comments, “I’m only taking on projects that feel good to me and represent a purpose of the ‘here and now’ in my life, and that’s what this song ‘Say Something’ actually does for me.”

Aguilera isn’t the only one singing the group’s praises. “Say Something” has encouraged an outpouring of emotion online, generating a genuine catharsis. So often the internet can become a hotbed for negativity, A Great Big World have turned it into a place of solace and inspiration. Listeners have taken to YouTube to comment confessing things like, “This song says what I couldn’t say,””This song is amazing,” “I’ve had this song on repeat for days now,” “I know what this feels like,” and “Although it is sad, this song is about moving on and moving forward, so smile.” Link to YouTube.

Great Big World

“Say Something”

Epic Records


Ian and Chad are humbled by the song’s response, “It is a healing and hopeful song and we simply cannot believe how many people this song has resonated with. It’s one of the greatest honors in the world to know that your art is making a positive impact. Even more so, it’s an incredible privilege to have the support of Christina. Collaborating with her is something we’ll both remember forever.”

The group’s debut full length for Black Magnetic/Epic Records “Is There Anybody Out There?” will be available for digital and physical pre-order November 4th and it includes instant downloads of “Say Something,” “Say Something” featuring Christina Aguilera, and their hit “This Is the New Year”.

Critics also continue to extol this twosome. Billboard writes, “A Great Big World package the understated tones of Adele’s ballads with dreamlike lyricism of Ingrid Michaelson on tear-jerking single ‘Say Something’,” while Perez Hilton calls them, “quirky and sweet”. ARTISTdirect adds, “It’s an artfully crafted collection of some of the most poignant, powerful and passionate songs you’ll hear all year. It’s also the start of something Great…” and pop singer Christina Perri tweeted about “Say Something”, “I am breathless. This is everything.”

She’s not the only one who has fallen under their spell. Making its television debut on Fox’s So You Think You Can Dance during a poignant and passionate performance by show victor Amy Yakima, choreographed by Stacey Tookey, “Say Something” instantly resonated with audiences everywhere. Immediately after airing, the track climbed up the iTunes Top Singles Chart as listeners identified with its message. It went on to become one of the highest-selling songs this season and had the largest increase in sales of any song following placement on the show. This follows up a bevy of notable placements for the duo. Their song “This Is the New Year” gained new life in 2013 by being performed by the cast of Fox’s hit TV series Glee. “This Is the New Year” has been featured on One Tree Hill, The Amazing Race, ESPN, Good Morning America, The Rachael Ray Show, The Today Show and the The O Music Awards.

A Great Big World began in the crowded practice rooms at NYU where Ian Axel and Chad Vaccarino were both studying music business while fostering dreams of writing and performing. Fast forward a few years, and in 2012 A Great Big World was born. Making positive, piano-driven pop bursting with harmonies the duo gained support through fans entirely on Kickstarter to fund their first EP which resulted in a recording contract with Epic Records.

The one question that matters for music fans this fall is Is There Anybody Out There?
1.      “Rockstar”

2.      “Land of Opportunity”

3.      “Already Home”

4.      “I Really Want It”

5.      “Say Something”

6.      “You’ll Be Okay”

7.      “Everyone is Gay”

8.      “There Is an Answer”

9.      “I Don’t Wanna Love Somebody Else”

10.  “This Is the New Year”

11.  “Shorty Don’t Wait”

12.  “Cheer Up!”

13.  “Say Something” featuring Christina Aguilera

Pre-order the album on their official site here, Amazon or iTunes   on Monday, November 4th!

Leave a Reply