Breaking News

Preview Janelle Monáe’s The Electric Lady Album

“The Electric Lady” Bad Boy/Wondaland Art Society/Atlantic Records

Janelle Monáe’s new epic album, The Electric Lady, is now available for pre-order. Click Here. As she says herself, it’s an “emotion picture” about her hometown of Kansas City only it’s “Kansas City in the future . . . like a surreal Parliament album with lyrics by Octavia Butler and album art by Salvador Dali.”

In this electrifying chapter, also known as Suite IV and V, Cindi Mayweather—the android superhero, otherwise known as The ArchAndroid— continues to fight for truth, justice and freedom in the futuristic city of Metropolis.  Throughout this momentous affair, Ms. Monáe is clearly aware that she who jams the hardest controls the people: and songs such as “Q.U.E.E.N.,” “Electric Lady,” “We Were Rock & Roll,” “Dance Apocalyptic,” and “Givin Em What They Love” (featuring none other than Prince!) continue her innovative assault on dance floors and earbuds worldwide.

Meanwhile songs such as “Primetime,” “Victory,” “Can’t Live Without Your Love,” and “What an Experience” find Ms. Monáe in new sensual, loving territory: mining her own personal amorous experiences, while also conveying the love, heartbreak and passionate side of androids everywhere. Guest stars include, Erykah Badu, Miguel, Solange, Esperanza Spalding and the aforementioned Prince. The emotion picture will be released, next Tuesday, September 10th.

Listen to the electrifying saga of THE ELECTRIC LADY right here, right now on Vh1. Click here.

Leave a Reply