Breaking News

Netflix And Republic Records Team Up For Beat Bugs: Best Of Seasons 1 & 2 Soundtrack

Netflix/Republic Records logos

NEW YORK, NY (October 12, 2016) – The soundtrack to the animated Netflix original series Beat Bugs will be released on November 4 in physical and digital formats, it was announced today by Melodia and Republic Records.  The album, Beat Bugs: Best Of Seasons 1 & 2, is available for pre-order now on iTunes HERE, with instant grat downloads of “Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds,” featuring P!nk, and “Blackbird” featuring Sia.  The second season of the hit series premieres around the world on Netflix November 18.  Netflix members in Australia will be able to enjoy both seasons on Netflix soon after their premiere on Seven Network.

The Best Of soundtrack marks the first time that the featured artists’ music from Beat BugsSeasons 1 & 2 has been available for sale, and includes all 16 featured-artist tracks plus the show’s theme, “All You Need Is Love” and four additional tracks recorded by the Beat Bugs cast.  Beat Bugs: The Complete Season 1 is available today on iTunes, and Beat Bugs: The Complete Season 2, will be available at iTunes on November 18.

The series and its music continue to garner widespread critical praise. The New York Times wrote, “Like most enduring animation series, the writing in Beat Bugs is crafted to appeal to children as well as to their parents, with plenty of allusions to lyrics.” In its piece on the show, Rolling Stone said that by engaging with Beat Bugs kids are “experiencing the music of the Beatles in a way their parents and grandparents never imagined.”  The Wall Street Journal also ran an in-depth piece, while Variety covered the project in this article, calling the covers in the series “richly orchestrated.”

Beat Bugs was created by Josh Wakely, following a ground breaking deal with Sony/ATV Music Publishing, and is produced by his Grace: A Storytelling Company in conjunction with Beyond Screen Production and Thunderbird.  Wakely personally selected each of the songs for integration into the series’ episodes and was closely involved in the music’s production, arranging and mixing.  Melodia was formed by the principals of Beat Bugs’ production entities to release music from this series, as well as future film, television and theatrical endeavors, in conjunction with the company’s partners.

The track listing for Beat Bugs: Best Of Seasons 1 & 2 is as follows:

  1. “Magical Mystery Tour” feat. Eddie Vedder*
  2. “Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds” feat. P!nk*
  3. “All You Need Is Love”*
  4. “Blackbird” feat. Sia*
  5. “Good Day Sunshine” feat. Robbie Williams*
  6. “Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band” feat. Rod Stewart**
  7. “Hey Bulldog” feat. James Bay**
  8. “And Your Bird Can Sing” feat. Regina Spektor**
  9. “Honey Pie” feat. Wesley Schultz of the Lumineers*
  10. “I’m A Loser” feat. James Corden*
  11. “The Word” feat. The Shins*
  12. “Drive My Car” feat. Chris Cornell**
  13. “I’m Happy Just To Dance With You” feat. Tori Kelly**
  14. “Rain” feat. Aloe Blacc*
  15. “In My Life” feat. Frances*
  16. “Eleanor Rigby” feat. Of Monsters and Men**
  17. “I’ll Follow The Sun” feat. Jennifer Hudson**
  18. “Come Together”*
  19. “Birthday”*
  20. “Across The Universe”**
  21. “Yellow Submarine”**