Breaking News

Listen To Vince Staples’ Debut Album “Summertime ’06” On NPR Now!

Vince Staples “Summertime ’06” Artrium/Def Jam Recordings

Anticipation is heating up for the arrival of Vince Staples‘ debut release SUMMERTIME ’06, as NPR First Listen exclusively premieres the extraordinary 20 track album in its entirety and Vince secures his first national television performance on Jimmy Kimmel Live. His astonishing double-album package, with 10 tracks per disc (full track listing below), is set for release on June 30th.

The iTunes pre-order for SUMMERTIME ’06 went live last week with “Señorita”“Get Paid” featuring Desi Mo and “Norf Norf” as the instant grat tracks. “Señorita” was selected by Pitchfork as a “Best New Track” and Billboard’s 4-star review raved: “Odd Future affiliate Vince Staples, one of rap’s most promising, most under­­rated upstarts, finally has a song that could make him more than just a critical favorite.” The explosive visual for “Señorita” has amassed over 1.8 million views since it premiered on

​            Vince, “the gloriously no-bullshit MC from Long Beach, California” (Pitchfork), and “a rapper of dizzying dexterity and a storyteller of heartbreaking acuity” (New York Times), began readying for the June 30th release of SUMMERTIME ’06 with an exclusive spot on the 2015 XXL Freshman Class cover; a guest role in the upcoming Sundance darling, DOPE, and a major European festival tour, including performances at Wireless (London, July 3), Woo Hah! (Netherlands, July 4), Openair (Switzerland, July 11) and Splash! (Germany, July 12).

​            Vince has contributed tracks to dozens of today’s hottest artists, most notably Odd Future’s Earl Sweatshirt, with features on past projects, and most recently on his new album,  I Don’t Like Shit, I Don’t Go Outside (“Wool”).  Vince can be heard everywhere from Dilated Peoples’ Directors Of Photography (“The Dark Room”) to collaborations with Jhené Aiko (“The Vapors” on her Sail Out debut, the biggest-selling EP in Def Jam history), and Common (“Kingdom,” on his Grammy®-nominated album, Nobody’s Smiling).

With SUMMERTIME ‘06, Vince turns the microscope on himself and his family for some of hip-hop’s most remarkable music.  “Ain’t nothing realer than the truth,” he explains.  “Ain’t nothing better than the truth, like I really did all that.  I really seen all that.  I really been around that my whole life.”

SUMMERTIME ‘06 Track Listing: (Disc 1) 1. Ramona Park Legend pt. 1 * 2. Lift Me Up * 3. Norf Norf * 4. Birds & Bees featuring Daley * 5. Loca * 6. Lemme Know featuringJhené Aiko & DJ Dahi * 7. Dopeman featuring Joey Fatts & Kilo Kish * 8. Jump Off The Roof featuring Snoh Aalegra * 9. Señorita * 10. Summertime.  (Disc 2) 1. Ramona Park Legend pt. 2 * 2. 3230 * 3. Surf featuring Kilo Kish * 4. Might Be Wrong featuring Haneef Talib aka GeNNo & eeeeeeee * 5. Get Paid featuring Desi Mo * 6. Street Punks * 7. Hang N’ Bang featuring A$ton Matthews * 8. C.N.B. * 9. Like It Is * 10. ‘06.