Breaking News

Janelle Monae Asks “What Is Love?” In the Theme From Rio 2

Janelle Monae “What Is Love” Atlantic Recordds

As Disney’s hit film, Frozen continues to top of the iTunes digital Movie chart in the aftermath of its success at Sunday’s Oscars , it is probably now safe to say that animated musicals are back in a very big way. One of the major players in this genre over the years has been Blue Sky Studios, and you better believe they are doing everything they can to inject as much musical fun as possible.

If the recently released details are any indication, it looks like music fans are going to be in for a real treat when they release, Rio 2 on April 11th. The soundtrack that will be released on March 25th by Atlantic Records, will feature some of the labels biggest stars, who just happen tot also casted as voices in the film. They include Bruno Mars, (Playing the role of “Roberto”), B.O.B. (featured on Ester Dean’s track “Rio Rio”), and Janelle Monae. (Playing a veterinarian ) The soundtrack even includes  Philip Lawrence, best known for producing music along side Bruno Mars as part of The Smeezingtons, (responsible for hits by Bruno Mars, Cee Lo Green, Travie McCoy and many others.) Of course it will have multiple appearances from Anne Hathaway and Jesse Eisenberg, who are reprising their roles of Tyler Blu Gunterson, and Jewel from the first film, but this time they are going to be joined by great talents like Jamie Foxx, Rita Moreno, and Carlinhos Brown.

If you are as excited as we are for the music of this film, you can click over to iTunes and pre-order it right now! When you do that, you will be able to download Janelle Monae’s, “What Is Love” instantly. Take a listen to her awesome solo version of the film’s them, and see complete Rio 2 soundtrack track listing below!

Janelle Monae 

“What Is Love”

From Rio 2 (Music From The Motion Picture

Atlantic Records

Related Media 
Rio 2 Trailer 2 (featuring Janelle Monae)
Blue Sky Studios/20th Century Fox Animation/20th Century Fiox
Rio 2 (Music From The Motion Picture) Track List 

No. Title Performer(s)
1. “What Is Love?” Janelle Monáe
2. “Rio Rio” (featuring B.o.B) Ester Dean
3. “Beautiful Creatures” Barbatuques, Andy García, and Rita Moreno
4. “Welcome Back” Bruno Mars
5. “Ô Vida” Carlinhos Brown and Nina De Freitas
6. “It’s a Jungle Out Here” (Brazilian) Philip Lawrence
7. “Don’t Go Away” (featuring Uakti) Anne Hathaway and Flavia Maia
8. “Batucada Familia” Carlinhos Brown, Siedah Garrett, Jamie Foxx,Rachel Crow, Amy Heidemann, Andy García, and Rita Moreno
9. “Poisonous Love” Kristin Chenoweth and Jemaine Clement
10. “I Will Survive” Jemaine Clement and Kristin Chenoweth
11. “Bola Viva” Carlinhos Brown
12. “Favo De Mel” Milton Nascimento
13. “It’s a Jungle Out Here” Philip Lawrence
14. “What Is Love” Janelle Monáe, Anne Hathaway, Jesse Eisenberg, Jamie Foxx, and Carlinhos Brown


Leave a Reply